assess for success marketing analytics and measurement weekly challenge 1

1. Imagine that a marketer is developing a specific campaign in a media plan and they set a target with a measurable, numeric value. What does this describe?

  • A performance goal
  • A business goal
  • A marketing goal
  • A media mix

2. A key performance indicator can serve as a performance target for which of the following?

  • Marketing goal
  • Business goal
  • Individual marketing campaign
  • Marketing campaign budget

3. What is the formula for the return on ad spend (ROAS)?

  • (number of units sold x ad spend) / cost per unit
  • (number of units sold x cost per unit) / ad spend
  • (total revenue x ad spend) / number of units sold
  • (ad spend x cost per unit) / number of ad clicks

4. Imagine that a marketer is developing a digital media plan, and they ask: “How long will the campaign run?” What part of a marketing plan does this describe?

  • Media mix
  • Target audience
  • Campaign duration
  • Performance goals
  • Key performance indicators

5. Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a marketer is working on a digital ad campaign for a single product. They learn that it costs $250 USD in advertising to sell 7 units of a $100 USD product. They apply the formula to calculate return on ad spend (ROAS).

What is this marketer’s ROAS?

  • (7 x 7) / 250 = .20
  • (7 x 100) / 250 = 2.8
  • (100 x 100) / 250 = 40
  • (7 x 7) / 100 = 0.49

 

6. After completing an online test, a marketer deploys the better performing of two direct response ads. What type of testing strategy did the marketer use?

  • A/B test
  • Click volume test
  • Outcome test
  • Drop rate test

 

7. What is the difference between a micro conversion and a macro conversion?

  • A macro conversion collects metrics from both websites and mobile apps. A micro conversion collects metrics from websites only.
  • A macro conversion is typically a completed purchase transaction. A micro conversion is a completed response that indicates a customer is moving towards a macro conversion.
  • A macro conversion is the act of assigning credit for conversions. A micro conversion is typically a completed purchase transaction.
  • A macro conversion is a series of actions that indicate a customer will likely make a purchase. A micro conversion is the act of assigning credit for conversions.

8. How can real-time analytics help marketing teams?

  • Marketers can create models based on browsing histories to find the right audience for a campaign.
  • Marketers can respond to underperforming aspects of a campaign immediately.
  • Marketers can choose an optimal page or ad without performing an A/B test.
  • Marketers can use historical data to predict what might happen in the future.

9. Which of the following can you use to set your cost per acquisition (CPA) performance goal? Select two.

  • The industry-average CPA value from a relevant industry.
  • The total cost per click, divided by the industry-average CPA.
  • The total daily spend, divided by the cost per click.
  • The average CPA based on comparative data from historical campaigns.

10. A business decides to create a digital media plan. First, they confirm their business and marketing goals. What additional steps must they take to create the plan? Select all that apply.

  • Define the campaign goals.
  • Determine and document all media plan items.
  • Shorten the expected campaign duration.
  • Select the media channels.

 

11. Which of the following describes the relationship between a key performance indicator (KPI), a marketing goal, and a business goal?

  • A KPI is a process used to establish business goals and marketing goals.
  • A KPI is a measurement used to gauge how successful a business is in its effort to reach a business or marketing goal.
  • A KPI is a specific objective in a marketing plan that informs marketing and business goals.
  • A KPI is an aim, achievement, or outcome for a business that informs marketing and business goals.

12. A marketer measures a campaign’s performance for a company that aims to grow its revenue. They use the formula (number of units sold x cost per unit) / ad spend. What did they determine?

  • Number of units returned
  • Yearly budget
  • Total sales
  • Return on ad spend (ROAS)

13. Which of the following is true about media planning?

  • Campaign-level performance goals are not included in a media plan.
  • ROAS is a performance goal that is not often included in a media plan.
  • It consists of three parts – target audience, marketing mix, and KPIs.
  • It indicates where, when, and how often an ad will appear across all media channels.

14. A marketer compares two web pages to identify which call to action performs better with their audience. What test did they use?

  • Split or A/B test
  • Outcome test
  • Click volume test
  • Drop rate test or A/C test

15. What do attribution projects organize? Select all that apply.

  • User demographics
  • User monetization
  • Micro conversions
  • Macro conversions

16. A marketer saves time by identifying the best page on their website without performing an A/B test. Which big data trend allows them to do this?

  • Multichannel marketing analytics
  • Predictive analytics
  • Real-time analytics
  • Intuitive marketing

17. Fill in the blank: To control costs of pay-per-click (PPC) advertising, you can manage the cost per click (CPC) on a per-campaign basis by _____.

  • decreasing the budget allocated for each conversion
  • testing fewer ads in the PPC campaigns that are lower priority
  • allocating more budget to the PPC campaigns that are the highest priority
  • assigning credit for conversions from social media clicks

18. When creating a media plan, why should you identify the media mix?

  • It documents how you will measure campaign success for each media channel.
  • It enables the right content selection on an allocated budget for any media channel.
  • To spend the limited campaign budget on the people most likely to make a purchase.
  • It allows you to consistently measure the performance and success of each media channel.

19. A marketer sets a specific objective in a marketing plan that supports a business goal. What does this describe?

  • A numeric goal
  • A media mix
  • A marketing goal
  • An employee goal

20. Fill in the blank: In marketing, the return on ad spend (ROAS) is the ratio of _____.

  • revenue generated to the number of new customers engaged
  • count of campaign-level goals to the revenue generated from ads
  • revenue generated to the amount spent on advertising
  • count of total sales to the count of total ad clicks

21. Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a marketer is working on a digital ad campaign for a single product. They learn that it costs $200 USD in advertising to sell 8 units of a $75 USD product. They apply the formula to calculate return on ad spend (ROAS).

What is this marketer’s ROAS?

  • (75 x 75) / 8 = 703.1
  • (8 x 75) / 200 = 3
  • (8 x 8) / 200 = 0.32
  • (8 x 200) / 75 = 21.3

22. Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a marketing team has a trove of historical data. The team makes data models based on collected browsing histories. They use these models to identify the right audience for a successful campaign early on.

Which application of big data does this describe?

  • Multi-channel marketing analytics
  • Predictive analytics
  • Real-time analytics
  • Autonomous marketing

23. Fill in the blank: One way to control cost is to manage CPC on a per-campaign basis. You can allocate more budget to the PPC campaigns that _____.

  • are the most popular
  • are the highest priority
  • cost the most
  • have an average performance

24. A business decides to create a digital media plan. Before they do, they need to define a target audience for the campaign. What media planning step should they take?

  • Select the media channels.
  • Determine and document all media plan items.
  • Conduct market research.
  • Confirm the business goals.

25. A marketer creates a new campaign that includes both business and marketing goals. They identify key performance indicators (KPIs) as part of the media plan. What is the role of KPIs?

  • KPIs indicate whether a media plan includes all requirements for a marketing campaign
  • KPIs contain details about where and when an ad will appear across all media channels
  • KPIs are quantifiable metrics that serve as performance targets for marketing goals
  • KPIs determine the desired outcome for a business, such as improving customer service

26. A marketer uses the ad spend, cost per unit, and number of units sold to determine a campaign’s performance. What should they calculate using this information?

  • The ratio of revenue generated to the amount spent on advertising
  • The ratio of revenue generated to the amount spent on product upgrades
  • The ratio of revenue generated to the number of new customers engaged
  • The ratio of revenue generated to the number of repeat customers

27. When creating a media plan, you should consider the budget. Why is this important?

  • It measures how well the campaign will reach the targeted performance.
  • It indicates how much revenue the campaign will generate.
  • It determines how much you can spend and on which channels.
  • It identifies the marketing and business goals.

28. A marketer creates two versions of a social media ad. The traffic is equally split and randomly directed to each ad. One ad outperforms the other by receiving more clicks. The marketer uses the ad that performed better.

What test did they use?

  • Outcome test or A/C test
  • Click volume test
  • Ad quality test
  • Split or A/B test

29. A marketer uses attribution to assign credit to completed purchase transactions instead of responses that indicate they are on the way to purchase. What type of conversion does this refer to?

  • Touchpoint organization
  • Micro conversions
  • Attribution projects
  • Macro conversions

30. A marketer creates a media plan before running a new campaign. They include information such as target audience, media mix, and KPIs. Why is the media plan important?

  • It allows you to run a campaign without setting any performance marketing goals.
  • It contains requirements, such as number of clicks, that should be met when a campaign is run.
  • It helps you to calculate the ratio of revenue generated by the amount spent on advertising.
  • It is a performance metric with a measurable numeric value that tracks specific campaign goals.

31. Big data plays a role in _____, which uses historical data to predict what might happen.

  • predictive analytics
  • intuitive analytics
  • real-time analytics
  • multichannel marketing analytics

32. Fill in the blank: The cost per acquisition (CPA) metric is best described as the _____.

  • average cost paid for each conversion
  • total revenue generated by a marketing campaign
  • average cost paid for each click
  • advertising campaign’s automated bidding strategy

33. When creating a media plan, why should you clearly identify your target audience?

  • To help prevent over- or under-spending for a particular channel during a campaign
  • It documents how you will measure campaign success for each media channel.
  • To spend the limited campaign budget on the people most likely to make a purchase
  • It enables the right content decisions based on an allocated budget for any media channel.

34. Which of the following is true about key performance indicators (KPIs)? Select all that apply.

  • They are non-numeric.
  • They are used in media planning.
  • They often serve as performance targets for marketing goals.
  • They are not connected to business goals.

35. Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that you want to learn which of two direct response pages performs better based on the number of clicks. You set up a test that randomly directs half of the web traffic to one page, and half to the other. After a set time period, you tally the total clicks on each page.

What is this test called?

  • A/B test
  • Direct response test
  • Performance test
  • 50-50 test

36. A marketer creates a new campaign. They determine how many times each ad is displayed and how many responses it receives. What are these targets an example of?

  • A media mix
  • An engagement goal
  • A marketing goal
  • A performance goal

37. A marketer uses return on ad spend (ROAS) as the performance goal for an ad campaign. What does ROAS indicate?

  • How much revenue generated to the number of new customers engaged
  • How much revenue was generated from the amount spent on advertising
  • How many campaign-level goals were reached based on the revenue
  • How many total sales came from the total number of clicks

38. What is an A/B test?

  • A process for aligning business goals and marketing goals.
  • An online test of two variants to determine the better performing option.
  • A formula to calculate the return on ad spend (ROAS).
  • A method to help determine the budget for a digital media campaign.

39. A marketer identifies the average CPA based on comparative data from historical campaigns.

What does this enable them to do?

  • Calculate the return on ad spend (ROAS)
  • Assign credit for conversions from social media clicks
  • Allocate more budget to the PPC campaigns
  • Set the cost per acquisition (CPA) performance goal

40. A marketer aims to increase a company’s yearly revenue. They create a marketing goal to increase the number of website visits. What is the connection between these two goals?

  • A business goal is a specific target in a marketing strategy that supports the marketing goal.
  • Both are measurements used to determine how successful a business is at increasing sales.
  • Both are numeric measurements that serve as performance targets for marketing campaigns.
  • A marketing goal is a specific objective in a marketing plan that supports the overall business goal.

41. Imagine that a marketer is developing a digital media plan, and they ask: “Whom do I need to reach with my campaign?” What part of a marketing plan does this describe?

  • Media mix
  • Budget
  • Campaign duration
  • Target audience

42. As a marketer, you create a campaign to promote a new product. You learn that advertising costs $450 to sell 30 units of a $310 product. At the end of the campaign, you are interested in the ratio of revenue generated to the amount spent on advertising.

How would you calculate the campaign’s return on ad spend (ROAS)?

  • (number of units sold x cost per unit) / ad spend
  • (ad spend x cost per unit) / number of ad clicks
  • (number of units sold x ad spend) / cost per unit
  • (total revenue x ad spend) / number of units sold

43. A marketer uses detailed data to gain insights and quickly respond to events. Which big data trend allows them to do this?

  • Autonomous marketing
  • Real-time analytics
  • Predictive analytics
  • Multi-channel marketing analytics

44. Imagine that a marketer is developing a digital media plan, and they ask: “Which channels will get the most out of my budget?” What part of a marketing plan does this describe?

  • Media mix
  • Target audience
  • Campaign duration
  • Key performance indicators

45. Consider the following scenario:

Imagine that a marketer is working on a digital ad campaign for a single product. They learn that it costs $150 USD in advertising to sell 5 units of a $75 USD product. They apply the formula to calculate return on ad spend (ROAS).

What is this marketer’s ROAS?

  • (5 x 5) / 150 = 0.17
  • (5 x 150) / 75 = 10
  • (5 x 75) / 150 = 2.5
  • (75 x 75) / 5 = 1,125

46. Fill in the blank: The cost per acquisition (CPA) metric is best described as the _____.

  • advertising campaign’s automated bidding strategy
  • average cost paid for each conversion
  • average cost paid for each click
  • total revenue generated by a marketing campaign

47. A business decides to create a digital media plan. As part of the process, they clarify what the campaign should achieve and align this with higher-level marketing and business objectives. What media planning step does this describe?

  • Determine how much budget to spend across each media channel.
  • Determine and document all media plan items.
  • Define the campaign goals.
  • Select the media channels.

48. As a marketer, you plan to raise brand awareness as part of your social media strategy. What is this goal an example of?

  • A marketing goal
  • A media mix
  • A numeric goal
  • An employee goal

49. A marketer aims to include A/B or split tests in their latest campaign. What will this test enable them to do?

  • Test two variants equally to determine the better performing option
  • Determine the budget for the campaign
  • Calculate the return on ad spend (ROAS) for the campaign
  • Align business goals and marketing goals

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